CS371p Fall 2021: Alexy Correa

Alexy Correa
2 min readOct 4, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

What I did this past week was doing coding projects for 3 CS classes at the same time, which makes it difficult since I have to prioritize on due date. I also was making the final touches to my Voting program.

What’s in your way?

What is currently in my way is that I need to study for an upcoming midterm and also finishing my Voting program. I am 90% done, but I just need the schema to finish, which has been difficult to implement.

What will you do next week?

I am going to focus more on my studying for my midterm, and I am going to do so by rewatching every lecture since the first day of class. I am also going to practice more on leetcode so that I can be prepared for interviews. On Friday, I may be planning to see the new 007 James Bond movie with Daniel Craig.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #6: Single Responsibility Principle?

It is an important topic to learn when it comes to OOP. What we usually do is that we want the classes to do everything, and when we create a new class that wants to do the same functions as the other classes, we are just doing a copy instead of reusing the things that we already have.

What was your experience of stack, queue, priority_queue, values, pointers, and references? (this question will vary, week to week)

I have had experience with all these topics in the past before and currently using them for other classes, but the only one that still keeps giving me trouble are references. I still don’t get on how a variable becomes an “alias” for another variable, or a real-world example of it, but I need to study up on that.

What made you happy this week?

Something that made me happy this week was that Dr. Downing decided to make the class remote for the rest of the semester. Allows me to get a bit more sleep.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week is to take a break when programming becomes difficult. Some of us will not leave the screen or eat until we fix the bug. We become so focused that we do not want to stop or do other things until we fix the problem. We just need to relax for a bit.

--

--

Alexy Correa

College student at UT Austin, Junior in Computer Science